A Wizard can only cast a number of spells up to their Level of Wizardry per turn, but can attempt to cast multiple spells during a single phase. In other words, should a Level 2 Wizard know two Magic Missiles and one Magical Vortex (three spells), they can only cast two of them per turn, but may cast both during the same phase.
BackSource: Warhammer: The Old World Online Rules Index
Magic - Frequently Asked QuestionsURL Copied!
View complete list of all frequently asked questions.
Currently displaying all results.
How many spells can a Wizard attempt to cast during
a single phase? For example, if a Wizard knows a Magical Vortex and a Magic Missile, can they attempt to cast both during the same Shooting phase?URL Copied!
Source: Official Warhammer: The Old World FAQ & Errata - Version 1.5.1
Casting the same Enchantment or Hex spells on a unit more than once has no further effect, but what about spells with a range of 'Self' that affect all units within a certain distance of the caster?URL Copied!
Unless stated otherwise, such spells are not cumulative and casting them multiple times will have no further effect.
Source: Official Warhammer: The Old World FAQ & Errata - Version 1.5.1
If a Wizard has a magic item or special rule that allows them to re-roll a failed Casting roll, can they re-roll a natural double 1 and avoid a Miscast?URL Copied!
No. A roll of a natural double 1 isn't merely a failed Casting roll, it is a Miscast, as described on page 109.
Source: Official Warhammer: The Old World FAQ & Errata - Version 1.5.1
If a spell has two Casting Values, do I have to say which I'm attempting to cast the spell at before making my Casting roll?URL Copied!
No, your casting result determines the 'strength' of the spell. In other words, the higher your casting result, the more power the spell will have and the greater its effect will be.
Source: Official Warhammer: The Old World FAQ & Errata - Version 1.5.1
If a Remains in Play spell with two Casting Values is cast at the higher value, which is used when trying to dispel it during the Conjuration sub-phase?URL Copied!
As stated on page 111, in order to dispel a Remains in Play spell during your Conjuration sub-phase, you must beat the minimum casting value given in the spell's description. This is the case even if the spell was cast at the higher of two given casting values.
Source: Official Warhammer: The Old World FAQ & Errata - Version 1.5.1
How many Remains in Play spells can I attempt to dispel during my Conjuration sub-phase?URL Copied!
As many as you wish, or, perhaps more accurately, as many as your opponent has in play and as many as you are able.
Source: Official Warhammer: The Old World FAQ & Errata - Version 1.5.1
What happens to a Remains in Play spell that is already in effect if the Wizard that cast it attempts to cast it again?URL Copied!
It ends immediately.
Source: Official Warhammer: The Old World FAQ & Errata - Version 1.5.1
Can a model wearing armour or carrying a shield cast a Bound spell?URL Copied!
Yes.
Source: Official Warhammer: The Old World FAQ & Errata - Version 1.5.1
Can a Wizard attempt to dispel a Bound spell by attempting a Wizardly dispel?URL Copied!
If the Wizard is within range of the model casting the Bound spell and not otherwise prevented from attempting a Wizardly dispel, yes. As stated on page 109, you may attempt to dispel a Bound spell as usual.
Source: Official Warhammer: The Old World FAQ & Errata - Version 1.5.1
Can a Wizard with a physical attribute that 'counts as' a type of armour (such as a Treeman Ancient's arboreal armour) make Casting or Dispel rolls?URL Copied!
Yes. Whilst such attributes are as protective as a suit of armour, such models do not wear armour.
Source: Official Warhammer: The Old World FAQ & Errata - Version 1.5.1
Does a Wizard that has joined a unit need to be in base contact with an enemy model to cast an Assailment spell, or do they only need to be within the fighting rank?URL Copied!
They only need to be within the fighting rank.
Source: Official Warhammer: The Old World FAQ & Errata - Version 1.5.1
If a Wizard declines a challenge and retires from combat, does their unit lose the benefits of any range 'Self' spells that Wizard has cast?URL Copied!
Yes.
Source: Official Warhammer: The Old World FAQ & Errata - Version 1.5.1
If a unit with the Fly (X) special rule moves over a magical vortex that counts as dangerous terrain, is it affected by it?URL Copied!
Yes. Magical vortexes are considered tall enough to affect even models that are flying high above the battlefield.
Source: Official Warhammer: The Old World FAQ & Errata - Version 1.5.1