BackSource: Warhammer: The Old World Online Rules Index

Universal Special Rules - Frequently Asked Questions
URL Copied!

View complete list of all frequently asked questions.

Currently displaying all results.

Can you choose not to roll for the arrival of Ambushers during your Start of Turn sub-phase?

No. Unless the unit itself or the scenario being played has a special rule that changes the way in which Ambushers arrive, you must roll for their arrival during each of your turns, from round two onwards. However, any special rules that affect the arrival of Ambushers which take effect after the Start of Turn sub-phase but before the Compulsory Moves sub-phase may be used as normal, regardless of the result of the Ambushers roll.

Source: Official Warhammer: The Old World FAQ & Errata - Version 1.5.1

If a weapon with the Armour Bane (X) special rule also has the Poisoned Attacks special rule, what happens if I roll a natural 6 when rolling To Hit?

A rule such as Armour Bane (X) can have no effect if no roll To Wound is made. In such cases, you may choose to roll To Wound as normal in the hope of improving the weapon's AP characteristic, but if you do the effect of Poisoned Attacks is lost and you must accept the result of the roll To Wound.

Source: Official Warhammer: The Old World FAQ & Errata - Version 1.5.1

Some mounted models have the Counter Charge special rule but others do not, even though they have the same type of mount. Is this intentional?

Yes. Counter Charge is a rule that represents the skill and ferocity of the rider, not their mount. In other words, not every rider is willing or able to perform a counter charge, regardless of their mount.

Source: Official Warhammer: The Old World FAQ & Errata - Version 1.5.1

When a unit Counter Charges, it rolls D3+1 to determine how far it moves. Is this roll counted as a Charge roll?

No.

Source: Official Warhammer: The Old World FAQ & Errata - Version 1.5.1

If a unit charged by two or more enemy units Counter Charges one of them, it may end its movement presenting a different arc to the other charging unit(s). Do those units resolve their charges against those arcs?

Yes. When a unit Counter Charges, it risks exposing its flanks or rear to the enemy, such are the perils of bravado.

Source: Official Warhammer: The Old World FAQ & Errata - Version 1.5.1

If a unit whose troop type is 'infantry' that has been joined by a character whose troop type is 'cavalry' charges an enemy unit with the Counter Charge special rule, can that unit Counter Charge?

No. A unit's troop type doesn't change when joined by a character.

Source: Official Warhammer: The Old World FAQ & Errata - Version 1.5.1

How far does a model with the Random Movement special rule move when making a Counter Charge?

As stated in the Counter Charge special rule, a model that makes a Counter Charge moves D3+1".

Source: Official Warhammer: The Old World FAQ & Errata - Version 1.5.1

Can a Drilled unit redress the ranks before Giving Ground?

Yes. A unit that Gives Ground is not a fleeing unit.

Note that, as mentioned previously, should any part of a unit cross beyond the edge of the battlefield whilst it is Giving Ground, the entire unit is removed from play and counts as having been destroyed. It is intentional that a Drilled unit might be able to avoid this fate.

Source: Official Warhammer: The Old World FAQ & Errata - Version 1.5.1

Do effects that modify a model's Movement characteristic also modify how far a model with the Fly (X) special rule can fly?

Yes. If a model has the Fly (X) special rule, the number given in brackets is essentially a second Movement characteristic. Any effect that modifies one will modify both.

Source: Official Warhammer: The Old World FAQ & Errata - Version 1.5.1

Can a model with two versions of the Fly (X) special rule combine both and fly further?

No. A model that has more than one version of the Fly (X) special rule essentially has two Movement characteristics it can use when flying. Of these, you may use the best.

Source: Official Warhammer: The Old World FAQ & Errata - Version 1.5.1

If a unit with the Fly (X) special rule is engaged in combat, can it use its 'Fly Movement' characteristic when determining which models are close enough to models within the enemy unit to fight or make supporting attacks?

No. Models with the Fly (X) special rule only fly whilst moving. In other words, such models are considered to have landed on the ground whilst the fighting takes place, and must use their given Movement characteristic to determine if they are close enough to the enemy to fight.

Source: Official Warhammer: The Old World FAQ & Errata - Version 1.5.1

If a model with a split profile has the Impact Hits (X) special rule, do all parts of the model cause Impact Hits?

No. Impact Hits are only made by a mount, not by its rider(s). In the case of a chariot, Impact Hits are made by the chariot itself, not by the beasts that draw it. If a rider has their own Impact Hits (X) special rule, these are made separately by the rider.

Source: Official Warhammer: The Old World FAQ & Errata - Version 1.5.1

If a unit with Frenzy or Impetuous has two movement characteristics (for example, if it can also Fly), does it have to use the greater when determining if it must declare a charge?

If it is able to use the greater, then yes, it must (tactically, you might not want it to, but a Frenzied Lord of Chaos on a mighty Dragon doesn't care about your tactics!).

Source: Official Warhammer: The Old World FAQ & Errata - Version 1.5.1

If a unit that is subject to Frenzy becomes subject to Frenzy again, does it get +2 Attacks?

No. A unit is either Frenzied or it isn't, multiple instances of Frenzy are not cumulative.

Source: Official Warhammer: The Old World FAQ & Errata - Version 1.5.1

'War beasts' and 'swarms' Fear models with the Flaming Attacks special rule. Do 'war beasts' and 'swarms' that have the Immune to Psychology special rule Fear models that have the Flaming Attacks special rule?

Yes. Even though models that cause Fear are normally immune to it, the rule that Swarms and War beasts Fear models with Flaming Attacks is an exception called out in those troop types' unique rules.

Source: Official Warhammer: The Old World FAQ & Errata - Version 1.5.1

If some models in a unit cause Fear but others do not, do I use the Unit Strength of the whole unit or just that of the models that cause Fear to determine if an enemy unit has a lower Unit Strength?

Count only the Unit Strength of the models that cause Fear.

Source: Official Warhammer: The Old World FAQ & Errata - Version 1.5.1

Units with the Motley Crew special rule use the armour value of the 'majority' of models. What if there is an even number of different armour values?

In such cases, use the better armour value (not including the armour value of any characters or champions that have purchased magic items or unique upgrades to improve their armour).

Source: Official Warhammer: The Old World FAQ & Errata - Version 1.5.1

What happens if a unit with the Move through Cover special rule is joined by a character without it?

Units move at the speed of their slowest model. Therefore, whilst the unit would suffer no penalty for moving through difficult or dangerous terrain, the character would, potentially reducing how far the entire unit can move.

Source: Official Warhammer: The Old World FAQ & Errata - Version 1.5.1

What happens if a weapon is subject to both the Ponderous and Quick Shot special rules?

The rules effectively cancel one another out, meaning the weapon would suffer a -1 To Hit modifier for Moving and Shooting.

Source: Official Warhammer: The Old World FAQ & Errata - Version 1.5.1

Can a unit with the Random Movement special rule move around or past an enemy unit, out of one arc and into another, before making contact with that unit?

No. Whilst units that move randomly do not declare charges, if you wish to move one into contact with an enemy unit, it must fulfil the same criteria as any other charging unit during its movement, as detailed on page 126.

Source: Official Warhammer: The Old World FAQ & Errata - Version 1.5.1

How far does a unit with the Random Movement special rule move when Giving Ground?

All units move 2" when Giving Ground.

Source: Official Warhammer: The Old World FAQ & Errata - Version 1.5.1

Can a unit that deploys using the Scouts special rule make a Vanguard move?

No.

Source: Official Warhammer: The Old World FAQ & Errata - Version 1.5.1

Are units that deploy using the Scouts special rule counted when determining which player finished deploying their army first?

Yes.

Source: Official Warhammer: The Old World FAQ & Errata - Version 1.5.1

If a model with a split profile has the Stomp Attacks (X) special rule, do all parts of the model make Stomp Attacks?

No. Stomp attacks are only made by a mount, not by its rider(s). In the case of a chariot, Stomp Attacks are made by the beasts that draw it or, if there are no beasts, by the chariot itself.

Source: Official Warhammer: The Old World FAQ & Errata - Version 1.5.1

When a unit that does not have the Stupidity special rule is joined by a character that does, the unit becomes subject to the special rule. What happens if the character leaves the unit?

The unit ceases to be subject to Stupidity the moment the character leaves the unit.

Source: Official Warhammer: The Old World FAQ & Errata - Version 1.5.1

Swiftstride enables a model to move further during a charge move than its maximum possible charge range. Why is this?

Because models with this special rule delight in running down cowards who flee before a charge!

Source: Official Warhammer: The Old World FAQ & Errata - Version 1.5.1

Do models that cause Terror cause it in models that cause Fear?

No. Models that cause Terror cause Fear in models with the Fear special rule, even though such models are normally immune to Fear.

Source: Official Warhammer: The Old World FAQ & Errata - Version 1.5.1

If the winning side of a combat includes one or more models that cause Terror, do models on the losing side that cause Fear or Terror suffer the -1 modifier to their Leadership?

No. Because models that cause Fear or Terror aren't terrified by Terror causing enemies, they do not suffer the effects of Terror.

Source: Official Warhammer: The Old World FAQ & Errata - Version 1.5.1

If a character without the Vanguard special rule joins a unit with it during deployment, can the character make a Vanguard move with the unit?

No. What’s more, if the unit is formed, it will not be able to make a Vanguard move; the presence of a character without the Vanguard special rule within its ranks prevents it. However, if the unit is in Skirmish formation, it can make its Vanguard move as normal, leaving the character behind.

Source: Official Warhammer: The Old World FAQ & Errata - Version 1.5.1

Can a character without the Veteran special rule that has joined a unit with the Veteran special rule benefit from it when attempting to use a special rule that requires them to make a Leadership test (Rallying Cry, for example)?

No. When a character attempts to use a special rule that requires them to make a Leadership test, they must use their own Leadership characteristic and, unless specifically stated otherwise, cannot use any additional special rules they themselves do not have.

Source: Official Warhammer: The Old World FAQ & Errata - Version 1.5.1